Latencies

So instead of having the (anticipated) Tax Refund, there will be a deduction in my salary in the end of January.

“Tax Payable”, eh?

My incentives last year exceeded thirty-thousand pesos and together with the monthly taxes that the government collected from it, they will amass this one-time-big-time annual due. It’d be cool with me if they just took it last December when I had pouring digits in my saving’s account. Digging it up on the first month of the year is kinda late.

Now I have to cross-out some stuff written in my shopping list for this month.

**********************************************************************************************************

OK for the main story.

I went to TriNoma yesterday to meet a guy who’s selling inexpensive MIDI to USB interfaces.

Getting there was an awful jaunt. I was chasing time to evade the rush hour in Buendia and EDSA and got no choice but to take the MRT. You know how I really hate that train line, right?

I bought some stuff for my laptop in the “gadget zone” and then tried out some MIDI Controllers at JB Music. The salesperson was happily assisting me because I said I would buy one in cash but I lied. I just can’t remember how I managed to escape the store. And pus! I forgot to drop by Lyric to see some red babies.

4 minutes and 27 seconds later….

The MIDI interface guy arrived in our exact meeting spot in the ground floor. It was a quick deal. He just gave me some brief information about the product, took the payment, and ran ahead. So since I got no more business in that place, I decided to go home.

I lit a stick of Marlboro first in the exit gate then surprisingly, I was approached by a drop-dead gorgeous woman smoking beside me. I didn’t get her name so let’s just call her “Lady Haha”.

Lady Haha: Excuse me, do you happen to be in a band?

Boyetus: …… yes?

Lady Haha: Are you a member of Nimbus…………?

Boyetus: Crowd? Yes.

Lady Haha: Napanood ko kasi kayo at Club Dredd last year.

Boyetus: Ah nung Prog Motion?

Lady Haha: Yah, with Fuseboxx.

Boyetus: OK.

Lady Haha: Ganda nung songs niyo ah.

Boyetus: Uy thanks.

Lady Haha: Gusto ko yung “changes”.

Boyetus: Changes ng? Metro? Tempo?

Lady Haha: Yung kanta niyong “Changes”.

Boyetus: Ah OK.

It took about 11 seconds before it sank in me.

Below is the list of the Nimbus Crowd songs that I KNOW.

Wargods

Twisted Darkness

Hollow-Hearted Man

The Fallen

Me

Ewan Ko

Chronicles Of A Dying Man

Dubbie Knights

Children Of The Light

El Fili

And some other “untitled songs” with temporary names like Expt.19, 21, 22, etc.

Crickets were chirping. I was not really in the mood to talk to anyone yesterday, especially about that NC song. All I wanted was to go home and try my new gear. So I just smiled at her, waved my hand goodbye and then walked away.

Though it would be a different story if the scene was like this:

Lady Haha: Excuse me, do you happen to be in a band?

Boyetus: …… yes?

Lady Haha: Are you a member of Nimbus…………?

Boyetus: Crowd? Yes.

Lady Haha: Napanood ko kasi kayo at Club Dredd last year.

Boyetus: Ah nung Prog Motion?

Lady Haha: Yah, with Fuseboxx.

Boyetus: OK.

Lady Haha: Can I be your “groupie”?

Daydreaming 101.

**********************************************************************************************************

I didn’t know that someone would identify me in public without me holding my keyboard. Nimbus Crowd is not even popular. Maybe I am cute after all (don’t throw up).

It’s really flattering that unexpected people dig NC’s music whatever song they like and wherever they say they saw us played. Even though we are in a break right now, off for recording sessions, missing in the scene, we are still recognized by some gig-goers that might have watched us in the past events that we did (Neil has his own stories to tell too). Thank you very much.

Hey, we already have 123 fans in Facebook (last month it was 118). 123 gullible individuals who, without reading, clicked the “Become A Fan” button when we sent the invites. Kidding!

**********************************************************************************************************

The MIDI Interface is working fine. But since I am using a laptop without a separate soundcard, the mixing latency in Sonar 4 is really high. Buffer size is 17.4 msec. I will be quantizing more often than I thought.

My supposed fall back gear is already complete. Whatever happens in the near future, in my present job, I am almost ready. Now it’s practice time.

HIT ME

