Meet Juno

So after a week of taming and bonding, after more than twenty bloody nips on my hands and umpteen wee-wee and poo-poo in my shirt, face, and hair… our new pet finally gave in and accepted us as her new owner.

So ladies and gentlemen, meet “Juno“, our female Sugar glider!

Juno

Sugar Gliders (Petaurus breviceps) are small marsupials native in Australia. Marsupials (females) have pouches where they carry their babies, called joeys.

They are omnivores. In captivity, their delicate diet is consists of fresh fruits, vegetables, Cerelac, and insects (crickets, mealworms, superworms, and roaches).

Like my big hairy Arachnid pets, Sugar gliders are nocturnal animals. They are wide awake at night. Juno is very much active around 1 A.M. until 6 A.M. Trust me, these cute creatures vigorously play and jump around at these hours and sleep mostly during the day.

The word “glider” comes from the flaps that they have on their side called patagia that they spread out in order to make a gliding motion from tree to tree in the wild and from cabinets to curtains to beds inside your bedroom.

Sugar gliders are extremely social creatures. The rule of the thumb is actually a minimum of two gliders when having them as pets. Having Juno alone is honestly a risky move, so being a responsible owner, I have to keep up with her and play with her during her awake time. I also have to carry and take her to the office with me (inside her custom-made bonding pouch) and let her out to pee when she needs to and then feed her with a slice of apple in the afternoon (mid-day snack).

Boyetus and Juno

Keeping a Sugar glider is like having a baby. If you don’t  have much time to spare for this critter, go look for another cuddly animal that doesn’t need much TLC. Sugar gliders are also highly sensitive creatures. Believe me, they can die in a matter of hours if not given the right attention they need.

Juno is almost well-bonded to us now. I handled most of the taming stage because I didn’t want anyone (except me) to get bitten during the entire process. I only let my wife and daughter fondle the cute little thingy a few days after I’m sure she’s finally tractable.

Ziann and Juno

But we still have long way to go. Taming and totally bonding a glider really take months and/or years. Luckily, we’re just having a good start.

HIT ME

